#### ITEM 12

### HARROW COUNCIL

26 APRIL 2007 – COUNCIL MEETING

## **MOTIONS**

# MOTION AT ITEM 12(1): Mayoral Nominations

 AMENDMENT:
 To be moved by Councillor Chris Noyce

 Seconded by Councillor Paul Scott

Insert after "1994 to"

- Add "1998 and 2002 to"
- To read "1994 to 1998 and 2002 to 2006"
- Delete "continue" in paragraph 2, line 3
- Insert "introduce"

ITEM 12

### HARROW COUNCIL

26 APRIL 2007 - COUNCIL MEETING

### **MOTIONS**

### MOTION AT ITEM 12(1): Mayoral Nominations

**AMENDMENT:** To be moved by Councillor Chris Mote

Seconded by Councillor Paul Osborn

Delete everything after "The Council acknowledges..." and replace with:

...that when the Labour group had control of the Council from 1998-2002, with a majority of one, a member of the Labour group was Mayor every year. Further, that during the periods of no overall control, 1994-1998 and 2002-2006, there was only one Conservative Mayor in each period, despite the Conservatives being the second largest group.

This Council is surprised by the convenient amnesia of the Labour group and therefore would like the following list to be entered into the record: -

1994	Cllr	John Cowan	Conservative
1995	Cllr	Stephen-Giles Medhurst	Lib Dem
1996	Cllr	Alan Hamlin	Independent
1997	Cllr	Keith Toms	Labour
1998	Cllr	Cyril Harrison	Labour
1999	Cllr	Ann Groves	Labour
2000	Cllr	Keeki Thammaiah	Labour
2001	Cllr	Bob Currie	Labour
2002	Cllr	John Branch	Lib Dem
2003	Cllr	Mano Dharmarajah	Labour
2004	Cllr	Lurline Champagnie	Conservative
2005	Cllr	Paddy Lyne	Lib Dem
2006	Cllr	Janet Cowan	Conservative